Congratulations, Dr. Pierce!

Executive Director of Research at St. Boniface Hospital to receive Order of Manitoba

Dr. Grant Pierce, St. Boniface Hospital’s Executive Director of Research, has been awarded the Order of Manitoba, along with 11 other outstanding Manitobans. Dr. Pierce will be invested into the Order of Manitoba for 2018 at a ceremony in July. The province’s highest honour, the award recognizes Manitobans who have enriched the social, cultural, or economic well-being of the province.

Dr. Pierce’s research in cardiovascular medicine has brought scientific acclaim to Manitoba through his participation in a series of studies to stop or reverse heart muscle disease or blood vessel wall injury. He also helped develop the Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences (ICS) and helped found the Canadian Centre for Agri-Food Research in Health and Medicine (CCARM), both housed at St. Boniface Hospital’s Albrechtsen Research Centre.

The latest group of Order of Manitoba inductees includes seven men and five women, including University of Manitoba President and Vice-Chancellor David Barnard, Michael Belhumeur, award-winning francophone historian Jacqueline Blay, Barbara Bruce, Dr. Sara J. Israels, Robert Kristjanson, Bernice Marmel, Bill Loewen, Robb Nash, West Broadway Youth Outreach Executive Director Ken Opaleke, and Dr. Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg. Dr. Pierce is in stellar company – you can learn more about this year’s Order of Manitoba recipients here.

Congratulations, Dr. Pierce!

The Foundation is a proud supporter of the Albrechtsen Research Centre. You can help take life-saving medical research to new levels – donate today!